Disability Services and Programs for Students

Back to SBCC

Welcome to DSPS

Director's Welcome

Dear Student:

Welcome to Santa Barbara City College and Disability Services and Programs for Students (DSPS).

We are committed to creating an accessible learning community where individuals with disabilities have an equal opportunity to pursue their educational goals. We strive to empower students, foster independence, and promote achievement through self-advocacy.

DSPS is responsible for arranging reasonable accommodations for all qualified students with a documented disability. The process for obtaining reasonable accommodations is an interactive one that begins with the student’s disclosure of his/her disability. 

We look forward to supporting your success!

Jana Garnett
Director DSPS    

 

For general questions and comments, please contact dspshelp@sbcc.edu.

To express complaints, please contact DSPS Director, Jana Garnett at:  jmgarnett@sbcc.edu.

 

Information on DSPS Voter Registration

Under the National Voter Registration Act (NVRA) of 1992, SBCC DSPS is an Agency-Based Registration Site, where students are offered information, voter registration application forms and the opportunity to become registered voters. 

There is no obligation to register to vote and the student's decision will have no effect on services offered by DSPS.

Voter registration information and application forms are also available at the website for the Secretary of State of California.
 

DSPS Faculty

 

Jana Garnett JMGarnett@sbcc.edu
For appointment call x2364
Director x4165
Darren Phillips

phillipsd@sbcc.edu
for appointment call x 2364

Disabilities Specialist x2995
Linda Beers LaBeers2@sbcc.edu
For appointment call x2364
Learning Disabilities Specialist x8755
Lesley-Anne Taylor lataylor7@sbcc.edu
For appointment call x2364
Learning Disabilities Specialist x4174
Janet Hose jhose@sbcc.edu
For appointment call x2364
Learning Disabilities Specialist x4143
Michele Britton Bass Mbbass@sbcc.edu
For appointment call x2364
Disabilities Specialist x5193 
Anika Kitson  amkitson1@pipeline.sbcc.edu
For appointment call x2364
Disabilities Specialist  x4425
Laurie Vasquez Vasquez@sbcc.edu
For appointment call x2364
Assistive Technologies Specialist  x2529

721 Cliff Drive Santa Barbara, CA 93109-2394    Main Campus Phone: 805.965.0581    © 2018 Santa Barbara City College